Pattern is almost ready

The last weeks I have been intensively working on the paint job of the pattern. I began with spraying three times epoxy primer-filler (EP-Grundierfiller, MIPA SE):

P1050964_s

Between the spray sessions I had to grind with the orbital sander (400 and 600 grit) to get a smooth surface for clear coating.

I then sprayed one and a half layers of acrylic clear coat (CC8, MIPA SE). I’ve never sprayed before and had to learn straight off. For obviuos reasons, the result was faur enough but not perfect. So I grinded the sufrace with 2000, 2500 and 3000 grit and polished to high gloss with a grinding compound (3M green cap):

P1050998_s

That was some hard work, but the result is worth the effort:

P1050996_s

I have to grind and polish the other side. After that I’ll be able to prepare evething for making the mold.

2 Gedanken zu “Pattern is almost ready

Kommentar verfassen

